First grow - need some advice and input

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Dr. Natty Light, Nov 10, 2016.

1. #1 Dr. Natty Light, Nov 10, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2016
    Hey all, I've been interested in growing cannabis ever since I moved down to Central Fl early this year. I've been following a few grow logs, and believe I have done just enough online research to the point where I am confident to finally start my first grow (since I'm a broke student and I don't have $50-$60 to buy a Q each week). I'll try to keep this post short.

Before I actually order cannabis seeds online, I'm just using a friend's bagseed to "test the waters" to see if I can actually get a plant to grow, and have the ability to store it in an appropriate area. He gave me a bag with about 8-9 seeds, but only 4 of them looked good to grow (dark instead of pale... they're sturdy seeds). I currently have them germinating right now. I started off by placing them in a cup of room temperature water, left them for 8 hours or so... 3/4 of them sank, and then moved them into a damp paper towel placed between two paper plates. I have this setting on top of my PC, which can get pretty warm. It's been about 24 hours so far, seeds still look the same but I've yet to actually inspect them. -- Is this an OK method or should I revise it or go ahead and plant the seeds?

For later down the road, I'll be using a closet to grow in and will use two different spectrums of CFL lights hooked up to a timer until I can afford a nice LED setup, Fox Farms soil, some type of nutrient that will soon be decided, and will most likely use mylar or a cheaper alternative for the walls of the closet. Depending on how much 1-4 females will smell, I may have to convert my PC cubby into a makeshift grow room w/carbon filter.