First Grow ( Little Help Please!)

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by c3pgnome, Aug 29, 2009.

1. ive started my first grow about 6 weeks ago. for the most part everything has gone quite smoothly. im a little new to grasscity.com so i dont know if im supposed to describe everything in detail or what but if so let me know and i can give ya'll the rundown.

super excited about joining. looking to cram some knowledge!

2. Details. Mucho details.

3. i started with 7 seedlings.
    all 7 germinated.
    had them all growing and had to kill 4 of them cuz i felt that that was to many (i did cry myself to sleep that night)

and its been about 6 weeks and they are looking mighty pretty ( atleast to me anyways)

i started out with a basic miracle gro soil mix. i dont think its been giving me any trouble. i accidently misread this website about watering so i was watering every other day with a miracle gro mix in water that sat out at room temp. im assuming thats why my plants are so dry ???

anyway so i said 6 weeks lol. one of the plants is 12" and the other is well on its way to 10". and they both have 10 leaves going on 12.

im confused about what you guys talk about when it comes to lighting. its all jibberish to me so ill lay it out plain and simple. ive built my own grow lamp with a sheet of steel from a tube that is about 2 ft x 1 ft curled to a U shape. i drilled a hole in the center to mount a duel lightbulb outlet and wired it through the top. ive got 2 flourescent light bulbs (i believe 60watt) running for 17 hrs on 7 hrs off. and i also dropped the grow lamp down to about 3 - 4 inches above the plants tops.

let me know what im about to run into. so far so good.

(im also a little worried because the lower leaves are very small and dry.)

4. probably should have mentioned what i was using to grow in. lol. still new :D