First Grow Ever

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by photosynthawhat, Sep 1, 2017.

1. #1 photosynthawhat, Sep 1, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
    Growing in a DIY fridge growbox!

This is my first attempt at growing my own plants, and working with a very small budget.

*A lot of things changed since starting and am using a completely different set up than when I started.

Growing inside a fridge that died recently, repurposed over a weekend into a grow box.

8 6500k CFL’s
    4 2700k CFL’s
    1 server fan (exhaust)
    1 server fan (intake)
    1 circulatory fan
    1 Honeywell humidifier
    1 temp/humidity gauge
    Perlite
    MG potting soil and mg nature’s care natural organic soil
    Bottled water/filtered ph’d to 6.5.

*original set up
    I have only really invested in soil (MG Potting Soil) and an led grow light (unifun 45w panel), the rest of my supplies scavenged from home and work.

Looking over a lot of the posts, I'm sure there's at least one person ready to tell me how it's going to fail because I'm using MG.

Yeah, I know I could probably be using better alternatives, but given my time and money available, I've decided to just give it a run. I have seen plenty of postings of people having successful grows from a MG and plain water grow, so hoping for the best.

I started germinating my seeds 28 hours ago using the cup of water method, no sprouts as of yet.
    (5 bag seeds I got in my last sack of Reggie)

From what I've read, I can leave them in water for up to 48 hours, but shouldn't longer than that.
    They've sunk as of today vs floating when I started yesterday.

I have a few cups with drainage holes already filled with soil for the seeds to be planted in once germinated.

I plan to water using bottled water so far. Where I live, we have pretty hard water with a lot of calcium, so not sure that would be good to use.

The area I'll be growing in will be a closet, the dual sliding type.