First Grow: Afghan in Coco

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by Bambi420, Oct 6, 2011.

1. Hey Blades :wave:,

im new to growing, and have done my share of research. Germed 4 seeds today of some afghan, picked up from a buddy.

Bought some shitty 2 gal plastic bags from my hydro store to start off in. Got a pre mixed coco 'organic root' combination of coco perlite and all sorts of organic stuff. Have 2 seeds germing in the paper towel method, and 2 in a shot glass doing askEds method. Ill have pics coming soon.

My light setup is 2 40watt t12's and 8 100w daylight cfls. Got 4 seeds about to break ground. Once they do ill have some pics. Going to make a mylar tent out of it to keep the animals away. this is my first grow and would love to have some people 'scribe to it. Pics and posts coming in a few days.

getting a ph meter here withen the week and looking forward to watching these ladies grow up.

2. i wouldn't even bother.... i havent used my ph meter in over a week and my plants look totally fine

3. Do you use tap water and nutrients in coco? ive heard ph is everything in coco....

4. filtered water, ph out of the tap is a little bit above 7.5 if not sometimes in the lower 8's
    im serious, i have been ph'ing for the majority of my growing time and just recently have stopped and i haven't noticed anything bad, and somewhat more lush looking growth...

just my two cents, but a lot of others on here agree

5. Alright well ill leave it be to start. And see how it goes without ph, id love to have you stay tuned for the grow

I germed 4 more seeds tonight in rockwoll and put up panda film in my closet. Ill have pics tomorrow. Got 6 germin, 4 in rockwoll cubes and 2 already in coco, just waiting to see some sprouts

6. I will disagree with this given the proper circumstances.