First DIY Grow Box - Looking for Pointers

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by TruShort, May 29, 2010.

1. Hey there - I posted this in the Absolute Beginners thread and it wasn't getting much feedback, and then I realized it was probably much more appropriate for this forum.

I'm going to be trying my hand at growing for the very first time. I'm starting small, with just two clones - both DJ Short genetics - one Flo and one Blueberry. There's a reputable collective here in LA that sells clones of both that are clones of DJ's Mother plants. I get to pick them up next week! :D

I love building stuff, so I decided to go as DIY as possible through this whole process. My basic plan is to start the clones in a Rubbermaid box where hopefully they can stay through the vegetation phase. While they are Vegging, I'll begin work on a larger box that will ultimately be able to grow four full-sized plants through flowering, and of course there will be a curing room, etc.

So, after scouring the forums here for quite a while, I drew up a some diagrams for a Rubbermaid box design.

[​IMG]

Okay, so this is all on the inside/back wall of the tote. I've already purchased the exhaust "system cooler" fan for a whopping $2.95 at a local electronics shop and rewired it to a 12V DC adapter. Works swell. Now I just have to do everything else.

I'm going to coat the whole inside with reflective mylar. Each of the Air Inlet holes will be 3" and the Exhaust Out hole will be standard 4" duct. All of the holes are going to be covered on the outside with a mesh fan screen to help avoid insects, etc.

I have two questions about this part of the box so far.