Female seeds and other questions

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Foxy01, Dec 15, 2006.

1. I have been researching growing cannabis for a few months now and I am finally starting everything up(I have enough room for two bubble buckets). I must start out from seeds because i have no connections to someone that I could get a couple clones from. So here lies my first question, should I buy female seeds(or feminized, is there a difference?) and run the risk of hermies? I have no room to grow 5 or so plants to see which ones are female, I barely have enough for two. I thought the female seeds were a perfect idea, but then I heard some really negative comments on them. What would be the best for my situation right now? Also, what medium do you guys recommend for the plants once they finish germinating? Rock wool or the clay pellets?
    Thanks in advance

2. Well if you have time, I'd go for standrad seeds and just hope for the best, but if you REALLY don't want to wait then just go for female seeds. Personally, I wouldn't get female seeds because usually they are priced waaaaaaay too high.

3. I've never had a problem with femmed seeds. Fear of hermies is greatly exaggerated. Femaleseeds.nl is one breeder very reasonably priced, sold by both Doc and Gypsy. Other breeders may have femmed lines that are reasonable too, again both Doc and Gypsy carry several other lines.

BTW for purposes of this conversation "female seeds" is kind of a shorthand for "feminized seeds", but there is a clear difference between them:
    • Female seeds are any seeds with two X chromosomes and thus predetermined to be female, about 50% of all seeds produced from regular pollination will be female (and the other 50% are the male seeds. And you can't tell the difference without either a genetics lab or just growing them out).