Federal Financial Aid

Discussion in 'Marijuana News' started by jack4409, Nov 7, 2010.

1. I am a college student that was recently caught with less than a gram of marijuana in California and received an infraction with a court date to attend. Is there a chance that I will lose my federal financial aid as a result?

2. You might get a light probation period (Mine was 6 months, no DTs, dropped the charges afterwards)

I didn't lose my financial aid afterwards, if that helps at all.

3. You sound pretty safe in californa but i'm not 100% sure

4. So did you have a light probation period as a result of the infraction, or did you have no infraction? Also, did you have no financial aid during the probation period?

5. You sure it's an infraction and not a misdemeanor? The infraction law doesn't go into effect until after the first of the year, Jan 11, 2011 I believe. Best of luck to you with the judge and I hope your financial aid doesn't get affected.

6. #6 jack4409, Nov 7, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 7, 2010
    Well my ticket has infraction circled and the top portion of the ticket is not checked off as a misdemeanor. Would the court date somehow upgrade it to a misdemeanor? I'm also a first time offender if that helps.

7. its just a ticket. here in ky, your first offense is dropped if you just plead guilty. i once racked up 3 POM charges in the course of 4 weeks, i got a lawyer, and all i had to do was merge 2 charges as 1, plead guilty and have it dropped, and then go to drug class for 3 hours and the remaining one was dropped.

8. If I were to plead innocent for the infraction because the weed belonged to my friend, but the weed was in my pocket, is there a chance that all charges will be dropped if he goes to court with me as a witness?

9. I suggest contacting NORML or somewhere lefit to see if there indeed is anything such as an infraction for weed in Cali - don't be taking any legal advice here. If there isn't, that ticket may be void.