Fabric vs Plastic pots in hot weather

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by Luis4, Jul 14, 2017.

1. hi so I live in California and it gets hot like 90-100 degrees in these summers and I wanted to grow some auto flowering seeds next summer (this will be my first grow ever). I wanted to use fabric pots because they keep the soil/roots a little cooler since its so hot in the summer but now I'm debating between what size fabric pot to use and wether or not to use plastic pots. I don't want to use too much soil. So I guess my question is, should I use plastic or fabric pots? What size pot? And how often would I have to water them? For growing autos in 90 degree weather. Sorry I'm still very new to growing.
    Thanks

2. Fabric is better . Autos beat new growers up. Better to get to know cannabis growing photo strains as they are way more forgiving. As far as watering..that depends usually the weight of the pot in question indicates if it needs to be watered or not.

GFP

Sent from my SM-G600FY using Tapatalk

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Well, do you think I would need to water everyday in 90 degree weather? If u could just give me like a rough estimate

4. "probably" depending on the environment and the size of the root system and the size of the pot..and of course the size of the plant.

GFP

Sent from my SM-G600FY using Tapatalk

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Fabric is great to warm to mild climates, as in most cases the water just runs out

but for your situation , you are correct the water vapes out far to quick

having a larger than normal pot say 5 us gallon plus another say 3 us gallons

offer the roots some barrier against the heat, in Russia we use the same against the cold

Autos at best run for 90 days, means you should get 2-4 grows in before summers end

for that extra heat use extra soil as insulation

do note Lift the pot

THINK

Then water

good luck