Explain VPN's

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by The Moon, Dec 6, 2012.

1. Hello world! Its my first post and my first thread.

I was wondering if anybody could explain Virtual Private Networks in layman terms. I am somewhat new to computer and networks and all that good stuff.
    What is LAN? Or WAN? How do they differ?

2. LAN: Local Area Network, which is to say two or more computers and/or devices hooked up as a network in one physical location through one controller. Usually a DHCP enabled router.

VPN: A tunneling protocol that a computer or device use to hook up to a remote LAN via some other network, usually the internet.

WAN: Wide Area Network. Can be many things, but usually refers to a distributed LAN, as in a corporate network where many locations may have their own LAN, but they are connected together to service the entire organization under one umbrella so that all have access to the same IT resources no matter where in the organization it may be stored. Usually connected via a permanent VPN, sometimes even via dedicated lines.

3. Zylark's explanation is good so I'll just lay out an example scenario.

Your company has two offices: New York and Phoenix.

Each office has its own LAN. That means all the devices in that office are all on the same network, and they can talk to each other. But the two offices cannot talk to each other.

Jim is in New York and he needs a file from Mary's computer in Phoenix. Because Jim's only connection to Mary's computer is through the Internet, the firewall in Phoenix blocks his incoming connection. We all know the Internet cannot be trusted, after all.

That's where the VPN comes into play. The VPN connects the two offices over the Internet and encrypts all the data between then. That way, the firewall is able to recognize that the request is coming through the VPN tunnel (which is a trusted source, whereas the Internet is not). It allows Jim to connect to Mary's computer.