Experienced programmers?

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by CreamSalad, Mar 11, 2014.

1. I'm a very new programmer determined to learn everything I need to know. Are there any experienced programmers willing to help out someone starting in the field looking to make a career out of it? I'm learning through learnrubythehardway and probably focusing on learning ruby to get a programming job, and I'm learning objective-c on the side to develop apps independently. I'm making good progress in my learning as I'm actually very interested and intrigued by programming and how it all works. I've only started learning actual programming about a month ago so I have the very basics down (variables, classes, objects, etc.) but I haven't gone into actually developing a program (besides small command prompt scripts from the ruby tutorials, and small single function apps from the objective c tutorials). I work full time so I like to invest my free time into quality learning.

I'm pretty much looking for any great tips, advice, pointers in the right direction, maybe a mentor/guide to show me techniques and anything I should know. I'm a fast learner and trying to learn the skills I need as quickly and efficiently as I can so I can quit this shitty janitor job and start my career as a programmer.

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum