Everything I accepted about marijuana to be true was BS and I feel like a tool

Discussion in 'General' started by acstorfer, May 8, 2018.

1. First off, I was always pro legalization, and for every argument against I felt I had a strong argument for. Even in the 90’s when I was a cop in the Air Force teaching DARE to dependent students in US schools overseas I never lectured the kids. I never told them to not do drugs. I was always honest with them with what I reasonably felt was the truth. I gave them my best information and left them to make their decisions. Now I am just realizing that all of those “truths” are just complete bullpoops. No claims ever made have ever been tested. They were all just guesses, and not necessarily educated guesses.

I am not going to say all these things are wrong. I can’t say that because none of these claims were really tested to be true and false. All I can say is pretty much all of the evidence thus far, and again nothing close to definitive, pretty much contradicts everything.

The first assumption I never doubted. Using marijuana can lower your IQ. That one they did a study, it was just a completely inadequate study. It had no control or oversight. Even with that they only found less than 4% of the people studied were found to have a lower IQ than expected. Keep in mind there were no adjustments for socio economic conditions, to include eating lead chips and going to terrible schools, terrible homes, and just about every possible factor.

How about every time you smoke marijuana you kill a million brain cells. Okay, my argument would be we have billions of brain cells so it really doesn’t matter. What the real argument should be is, what studies (derived from actual scientific methodology) actually demonstrates this to be the case? Why ask that? Because no studies were done. People just made that up.