Emergency, Wind damage.

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by Jakimo, Sep 9, 2012.

1. Hey, Im new to being an active poster on GC.

I live in Montreal, have diagnosed crohn's and celiacs disease, have a license for marijuana smoking and growing. Hence, me the urban grower.

I grow on a hidden rooftop on my property legally. I cannot however access where I grow during daylight hours because of proximity to a school and daycare.

I have 2 problems with my setup and 1 is an emergency.

I have 4 plants about 4 feet tall in about 3.5 gallons of earth. They each have 4 to 6 main tops and another 4 to 6 smaller tops on the sides. So they have a large top. Everything was perfect with the season until the wind came out of nowhere this evening and shot up to 100km an hour during a thunderstorm.

I knew in my heart what was happening to my babies however could not run to their aide in time to stop the damage :(

Two of them are ok, look a little stunned, literally... but are ok.
    The other 2 are why im posting.
    The wind hit them hard enough to bend them 90 degrees to a full horizontal without turning the pots! I watered recently and that alone I feel has torn all my plants main root systems. Devastating yes, however very hard to see coming after a perfect season.

I brought them down and when I hold them up, they just fall back to the bent shape. They are bending from inside the pot. No stalk is broken or turn. They are just quite loose in their pots. Loose like when your find a plant who's roots have rotted away "loose". I did some examining and see that they are still firmly rooted and not coming out easily, just super easy to move and bend in the way the wind did.

Im worrying that the wind turn or separated their main root system and that once again mother nature has stuck it to me.