Electrical questions answered here

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by cbreez420, May 27, 2018.

1. Hey guys. So I am a licensed electrician and I’ve been working in the trade for the last 20 years. I’m feeling generous and would like to help out and give back to the community that has helped me out countless amounts of times. If you ever have any electrical questions I would be more than happy to answer them here.

2. How does 3-phase 208 volt work?

3. There's a few different basic forms of 3 phase power you'll find. 208 is one. There's also 460volt 3 phase. It's exactly as the name implies it's 3 legs of power. Standard residential home electricity is only 2 phases of power and 110-120volts each phase.

3 phase has no neutral included in the main power feeds. The main reason is for better electrical efficiency in industrial/commercial applications mostly for large electrical motors. 3 phase motors use a different style of motor winding and are the most efficient design.

Most electric companies won't run 3 phase to a residential home. Some people have old commercial property that already has it but it's very uncommon. You only see it in large commercial and industrial areas. 460 even more so.

Higher voltages have less voltage loss over longer circuits. They are more ideal for most applications but more dangerous. It's easy to shock yourself on 460volts. You can feel the EMF from inches away from it.

The power pole outside of your house has high voltages at the very top that are stepped down to what's required at the property by the transformer on the power pole. It's then ran down to each home/building with a transformer that makes either 220-240 two phase or 208-460 3 phase and supplies sometimes more then one building depending on the load for that transformer.

4. I was testing the other guy; but good work. Higher volts allows for less amps to do the same work; with less heat. Hence efficiency.

• Like Like x 1