Electrical help required please!

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by Brucefx, May 11, 2013.

1. Hi guys I have finished my grow cab now and have an issue I need help with!

Basically my cab is next to a double socket and everything is run off a power strip, my 4 inch inline fan, nft hydro pump, small oscillating fan and 400 watt hps.

Basically my temps are getting too hot in there as when the light is on my fan runs a lot slower, so basically why is this and how can I remedy this? I have tried plugging the fan into the other socket on the double on its own but no difference there, have not tryed running a extension lead from a different socket yet to see if that makes a difference as I don't have an extension at the moment,

I just thought I would try here and see what you good people think before I buy one!

Thanks

2. im not an electrician but I don't understand why your fan would slow down when you have your light on. if the watts are exceeding the power rating of your sockets it should trip the circuit breakers. Im sure most power supplies have an maximum of several megawatts so you shouldn't be overloading it

3. You probably need to put the fan or the light on a different circuit.

4. what different circuit though? putting stuff on a separate ring main in the house shouldn't reduce the total watts being drawn from the mains

need a qualified electrician to come and rescue this thread. or OP could post a clean version of the question on an electricians forum (by clean I mean no mention of growing weed

5. #5 Doc-J, May 12, 2013
    Last edited: May 12, 2013
    [quote name='"trifle"']what different circuit though? putting stuff on a separate ring main in the house shouldn't reduce the total watts being drawn from the mains

need a qualified electrician to come and rescue this thread. or OP could post a clean version of the question on an electricians forum (by clean I mean no mention of growing weed[/quote]

I doubt he is overloading the main.