Electrical/Ballast/Vent fans question

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by Budsworth, Jan 23, 2010.

1. Running 220 20amp circuit for ballasts. 110 20amp circuits for the rest of the room.

Question is this:

How do I get two ventilation fans that run on the 110 circuits....to turn on when the ballasts on the 220 circuit turn on aside from running them on two separate timers or on a relay?

Any suggestions?

2. Simple timer would probably be the easiest way. :rolleyes: A relay would be the coolest. Just because I'm a builder geek I would go with the relay.:cool: It would cost you more in the long run. Typically in builds for my customers, I run a seperate timers. Out of curiosity how are you turning on the lights?:smoking:

3. Planning on timers because isn't that just the way you do it? So it would just be easier to run them on separate timers. How hard is it to sync them?

I was looking at this:

DIY 4-6 light controller for under $80 - Marijuana Growing

...and it's giving me some ideas.

Do you think a 220-20amp circuit is the way to go for my ballasts? I ask you now because I'm planning on running the electrical in a few days. Easier to make changes now as opposed to after I've run it.

4. Hey Bro,
    Sorry I haven't had time to respond to your previuos PM. I can't even believe I'm typing when I have to be up in 5 hours.:eek:

If you are looking at light controllers you might want to increase the wire size running to your room. :D

First link is to calcuate amps based of watts
    Second is figure out wire size for given distance.
    It's better to teach how to fish then to......
    RayLucke.com: Volts/Watts to Amperage Calculator
    Wire Size Calculator

I always oversize my wires. More flexablity.