Ebb and Flow vs Dirt

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Jolly Roger, Mar 21, 2010.

1. Im trying to decide btwn dirt, and ebb and flow. My original plan was dirt, as i have some experience with it. But, ebb and flow seems like a nice simple concept. My plan with dirt was to have a 16 plant veg room, and 16 plant (in 5 gallon pots/under 3600watts) flower room. The plant totals are based on medical mj cards, which actually total 48, so i figure 32 total plants, w only 16 in flower at any given time, gives me a good position if i ever needed to account for my grow. That said, I'm wondering if my 32 total favors going dirt, or EnF in terms of total harvest potential. Thanks for any feedback.

2. wait... so you have enough cards as a caregiver to grow 48 total plants, but are only growing 32?? I'm somewhat confused by that. Why wouldn't you grow all 48? The provision for you to grow that many is in case part of your crop fails, you SHOULD still have some left over to supply your patients. Only growing 32 plants, if you lose half of them to spider mites or something, it's a good bet that half of your patients that you are a caregiver for will be without their medicine for a couple months unless they go buy it somewhere else. Oh well...

On your question... Ebb and Flow systems require more attendance and maintenance. Making sure your nutes are right every day, making sure the pH is right all the time, temperature of the res has to be exact, etc... It WILL however produce - in most cases - more and higher quality buds than a similarly planted dirt setup. Dirt requires almost no maintenance, less tending, more "just leave it be", and a few days in the growth cycle when you need to add nutes... Of course, if you start it with the best soil in the first place (manure compost and worms) you won't have to add nutes anyway.