Ebb and Flow - How to fill and drain the reservoir???

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by walkingstick, May 17, 2010.

1. So, I am somewhat new to the Ebb and Flow system. My question is as follows...

How do I totally drain the reservoir when it is time to either clean the reservoir and/or mix and add new nutrient solution? It does not seem that I could simply lift the top table part because I may disturb the plants and/or knock them over.

And the flip side of the question is..
    How do I then add the new solution with minimal hassle and disturbance to the growing plants?

I have found no answer or demo anywhere online. I would assume there is an easy way of doing all of the aforementioned tasks since ebb and flow is common and popular, but I have yet to figure it out.

2. i agree! i also cant figure this out! my 40 gallon res is so big.... siphoning doesnt work cause its on the ground. ahhhh. thinking about building a table so i can have access too it all. =[

3. When my tray gets too full to move, I just unplug the tube from the pump and attach a 6' tube that goes to a 5 gal bucket and pump out everything I can until the pump is about to suck air.

I also have a small piece of 1x2 under one end of my res so that all the water runs to the pump end to get the most out. After I get that low, I use my wet/dry shop vac and suck out the last quart or so. I can then add a little fresh water and wipe down the sides and bottom that I can reach and re vac.

After its all clean, I then refill with fresh water and nutes. I'm small scale though, using a 1'x3' Ebb n Flow stackable that uses about 7-8 gallons max.