Easy plants for the aspiring newbie

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by Apu42, May 10, 2011.

1. I just bought some cilantro seeds for my garden. At first I just wanted some cheap smoke but I'm realizing how much fun gardening itself can be! Any suggestions on some easy plants? I heard tomatoes can grow just about anywhere-- that would be fun. Are cucumbers easy to grow? I'm really enjoying this :)

2. You want to smoke or eat?

3. Basil is easy to grow in your kitchen window sill. Strawberries are pretty easy too. And peas.

4. Read the original post again. I want to grow smoke to smoke smoke--'I want to grow other plants for the variety/entertainment factor.

When I was a kid I looked up to Kurt Cobain. I started playing guitar because I wanted to play Nirvana songs. After awhile I wanted to learn lots of different types of music making me the well rounded musician I am today. What started as me wanting to learn the songs of my favorite group turned into me learning lots of songs by lots of groups of various styles. I think there's a big difference between a gardener and someone who knows how to grow weed, just as there's a difference between a musician and someone who knows how to play a few Nirvana songs. But I guess there has to be an innate desire for more.

5. Basil huh? I love the smell of freshly cut basil, I have to cut it all the time at work :)

I always assumed strawberries would be difficult since they're kinda expensive. I'm going to look into that:)

6. Cannabis also got me interested in growing vegetables.

Strawberry plants are one of my favorites. Also easy to grow.

Tomatoes, onions, cabbages, peppers, all pretty easy.

onions are extremely easy to grow. Just plant them, and they'll grow like weeds until you have an onion.