DWC Setup - advice needed

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by jasbo0101, Jan 5, 2020.

1. This is my first time doing a DWC hydroponics bucket grow and was hoping for some thoughts and suggestions on my setup / parameters. I plan on growing Jack Herer but am starting with Dark Devil as my guinea pig which I received as a sample from my seed guys. On day 1 I mixed up the bucket with nutes (No calmag or hydroguard yet as I await their arrival) and am seeing the following:
    Air temps (w/lights off. will be running an LED during Veg so I don't believe the temps will fluctuate too much): 68
    Humidity: 40%
    Water Temp: 67
    Water PPM: 151
    PH: 5.5

I should point out that this is just a dry run to check my parameters over a week while my seeds germinate.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Sounds good, you germinating in the DWC or you goin transplant em in.

3. They are germinating using the old paper towel method so I will be transplanting them in.
    thanks!

4. Goodluck.

• Like Like x 1
  5. Dwc crash course mate.

Set res to 200ppm plus the water source.
    Ph5.7
    Once the ppm of the res starts dropping after a week or so go upto 300ppm.
    Once that ppm starts dropping after another week go upto 400ppm etc etc.
    Let the ph drift upto 6.3 before you fix it back to 5.7.
    Use hydroguard or h2o2 to keep the res clean and prevent root rot.
    Change res every 7-10 days regardless of how full it is.
    Not much else to it really.
    Root the seedlings up properly in a rockwool before you plug them in.
    Want at least 1 full set of leaves. If they go in straight away there’s a few things tend to go wrong. Stem can dampen off and kill them or they just drown from the rockwool being too wet.
    it’s easy though mate. Just keep the ppm dropping and not much can go wrong. If the ppm starts rising then the mix is getting stronger because the plant can’t absorb it all.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1