DWC problems

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by LF425, Mar 26, 2015.

1. Hello and good day my fellow farmers.  
    I have been growing my own supply out of soil for a couple years now and I thought I should try my hand at hydroponics.  I went ahead and built myself a simple deep water culture system out of four 4 gal buckets and one 5 gal bucket.  I have run into some problems right off the bat with the roots already.  For the first couple of days they were doing fine and then after a pretty bad temperature spike, up to 88 for a couple days, the roots have begun to go very bad.  They are all brown and slimy with a  goop of some sort on them.  Here are all of my readings.

20 gallon system
    PH- 6.4 all the time.  It doesn't change much.
    PPM between 550 and 600
    air temp- 80 degrees
    water temp- 74 degrees

I also run about 6oz of H2O2 every other day.
    Please tell me if I am missing something. thank you

2. Your ph should be in the 5.8 to 6.2 range.

I assume you are using some kind of air/stone pump?

The warmer your water the more air you will need.

3. I have two air pumps with plenty of oxygen.

Attached Files:

4. hey man i had the same problem as you. I'm on my first grow. i recommend botanicare hydroguard. also wrap your buckets in tin foil then duct tape over so its not all shiny. also do this to the lid. get those reservoir temps as low as possible and you'll be alright. i keep mine now below 60 but under 70 and you should be ok

5. #5 hddani, Mar 26, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2015
    You gots the root rot I think
    Lookup heisenberg tea, thats a solution 48 hours away minimum tho
    You need to drop your water temp yesterday, mine is 72 and some would say even that is too warm
    Until then the H202 is a losing battle

Edit my bad just reread u have it at 74 I thought it was still 88! Lower wouldnt hurt tho my 72 works cause i have a live res of bennies