DWC or RDWC for noob?

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by snoopunit, Jun 26, 2017.

1. Ive been spending a significant amount if time looking into hydro for my next grow, but im not sure where to start. I want to have 4x 5gal dwc buckets and eventually up to 9. 4x veg, 4x flower, and 1x clones for a perpetual grow, but that wouldnt be until I really get a handle on this stuff. What would any of you recommend for someone whose never grown anything in dwc before? Im thinking of RDWC since it would seem simoler to change and monitor one main res rather than 4 separate buckets, buy I have very little knowledge other than watching yt videos.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Honestly, its all up to your strain and genetics. Some plants prefer to drink alot (DWC) while other plants prefer to breathe alot (Aeroponics). If you don't know what strain you'll be growing next, figure that out first and it'll help narrow down the options.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

3. If you really want to do 9 buckets, I'd lean towards RDWC. However, you'd need 2 systems to veg/flower if you were looking to do a perpetual harvest. 9 buckets can be a hell of a lot of work. Before totally committing, I'd suggest trying 1 out first.

But... I veg in 8, 5 gallon buckets - and thanks to Hydroguard, I don't change the rez at all during veg - just top off fresh nutes/RO as needed - and I no longer care about rez temps.

I take the 6 best and move them to my RDWC to flower in there.