Drummers, I have a question for you.

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by TheHempress, Dec 11, 2008.

1. I am thinking about paying for my son to take drum lessons starting in the spring, or close to that. I get my tax return in February so I was thinking I could pre-pay for some lessons then.

Anyway, I need to buy him a drum kit. He is only four years old, so it has to be a junior one, but I want one of decent quality that he can take serious lessons with.

Any suggestions? Since I am doing this when I get my tax return (and I'm expecting a fucking nice tax return) money isn't really an object. I mean, I can't spend more than 5-600$, but that's still plenty, right?

2. im not a drummer, im a guitarist, but i can tell you that 600 for a junior kit is more than you will ever need to spend.

i recommend this kit: http://www.zzounds.com/item--LUDLJR106
    its decent quality for the price. since he's four thats the way to go. when he gets to about 9 you could get him a real size one; until then, anything bigger than a junior will just be too big for the kid.

3. Ive been playing drums since 5th grade. You could even get him a snare to start off with and get used to and then buy him a basic set, maybe just a basic pearl export 5 piece or something like that. Just find a good teacher to mold him into a drummer, I think drums are the easiest instrument to learn, you just gotta get down the rhythm and coordination.

4. I've been playing for almost 6 years. I was in my high schools marching band all 4 years and was on drum-line playing the snare all 4 years. Also, I've been playing set since 6th grade. I agree with what bro above me said lol i jsut forgot to quote him. It might be safest to jsut start with a snare so he can learn basic rudiments and such, that's the best place to start 'cause any good drummer has progressed from there.