Dropping Out Of College.

Discussion in 'General' started by Tomason, May 6, 2014.

1. For the first time in my life I'm seriously considering dropping out of college.

Right now I'm studying international economics in the fifth semester. I always thought: "Economics, that's something you can use in so many aspects of life later on." But now I'm realizing I haven't been interested in what they teach as economics in my Uni at all. 

I'm not too smart, but I'm also far from dumb and I never had a problem learning something once I got interested in it. With the stuff they teach me it's quite the opposite. I like the general idea of the topics and am kinda interested in most of it, but their approach is all high school like, meaning they teach their perspective of things, tell you how awesome THEIR aspect of economics is compared to the others, tell you what's important and will ask you exactly what they tell you at the end of the semester in the tests. 

For the last two or three semester I thought it was the weed that kept me from getting the hang on it, but in reality it's really me who is not really interested in their teachings. 

You read their script and do their exercises they've drawn up for you and then you pass the test. I see so many people around me studying in the same field that just follow that principle like zombies and don't even think about what they're doing. Is this the right path? Do I want a job in this field even if it's not some uber-managing gig you think you get? I guess a majority of people actually think they're gonna be managing shit, but with the numbers of people enrolling every semester it's way more likely they'll end up with a 2500$ job, busting their ass for some scumbag company that keeps your profits for themselves and will give you a raise here and there so you might be able to eliminate depreciation of your currency.