Dried bud has a strange potent smell!!!?

Discussion in 'Harvesting and Processing Marijuana' started by farBetter, May 16, 2010.

1. I recently dried around 8 ounces of GDP and I found that some of the nugs have a strong scent that doesn't smell like pot, while most of the other nugs have a very mild smell.

A few of the largest tops are the buds that smell strange and I'm worried that they might be infected with mold that is invisible to the naked eye, but since I'm a noob grower I can't say for sure.

I can't accurately describe the smell, but it almost smells chemically. I still have some more buds on my plants that I've yet to cut down and I smelled them to discover that a few of my uncut tops have this smell too, while other ones do not.

I'm curious if the strange smell will go away while curing in jars or if it will spread to the other buds.

Should I separate the smelly ones from the others?

Could mold or bud rot be the case, but I can't see it?

Thx for the help!

2. a picture says a thousand words:rolleyes:

3. Hmm, if the nugs are put in jars when they are too wet they can get a strange smell (not neccesarily mould), but seeing as you can smell it on uncut buds I'm not sure. Get a pocket microscope and check for mould. If you can't see any, I'm sure it's fine; just make sure to dry it well.

4. Did the stems snap when you finished drying and started to cure? If they weren't completely dry before going into jars, mold can take over pretty quickly. I've smelt moldy buds, it's not a smell you forget. It smells sweet but....moldy.

5. He said that some of the buds on the pant have the same smell...so the Cure has nothing to do with it :D. Maybe the top buds are a little more mature hence the different smell. Other than that not sure what to tell you:confused:...Good luck.