Does cooling the smoke really matter that much?

Discussion in 'Smoking Accessories Q&A' started by PackersFTW, Sep 11, 2011.

1. I smoke out of nothing but bongs, so not like I'm new to them, but I always thought the reason it's less harsh is from more of the crap being filtered out.

But I keep reading all this stuff about cooling the smoke more through percolators etc. Unless you're talking about a small metal pipe, I don't see how it matters enough to talk about difference between an 18 inch bong with no ash catcher or percolator, and then one with both of those; it will already be cool enough.

Smoke isn't that hot coming out of any respectable size bong, so what's with all these extra filtration features talking about cooling it more? Anybody agree?

2. I was the same way, then I took a hit out of my friends Luke Wilson 15arm bubbler and it blew my mind with how smooth it was.

3. I think perc's/ashcatcher's make it a lot smoother. Also I've smoke bongs that are harsh as shit so smoke temp must be different from piece to piece.

4. There's no argument that more filtration makes it smoother, I'm just saying it's not due to cooler smoke.

5. I agree. I think its not as much about the temp, but how well it is filtered before it hits your lungs. For example, a well diffused DWB piece will blow the socks off of a basic RooR tube with downstem. There are more areas (holes) for the smoke to travel through water, even if its a single body of water. Which is what makes the difference. Its not the size or amount of percs/filtration, but how well those percs are filtering/diffusing the smoke. Although, the more diffusion you have, the more surface area the smoke has to cool down as well, therefore producing a smoother hit.

6. Right.

7. The cooler the toke, the smoother it will feel on your lungs. Thats why some ppl put ice in their bongs or have ice chambers