Does Anyone Know Anything About Vpns? Few Questions.

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by colorado4, May 22, 2013.

1. #1 colorado4, May 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2013
    What i want to do is be able to have my ip hidden on the web, or have the sites i visit encrypted.

First off, that is possible with a vpn right?

I don't want to pay for for a service i would rather just set up my own.  I have two computers to run the server and the client.

So really i just need to know if i set it up following a guide such as the one below would it hide my ip/the websites i visit from my isp?

http://lifehacker.com/5902468/how-to-set-up-a-personal-private-vpn-with-hamachi

Edit: I'm a college student and the school monitors wifi and i would prefer to not worry about them seeing my history.

2. Jailbreak/root your phone and tether for free. Easier.

3. Doesn't tether cost money? my phone used to be jailbroken and it was like $9.99 to have the witether app

4. You can tether for free with a rooted device. The best way to stay hidden on the web as far as I know is to use Tor. Theres plenty of info on that site about how it works and whatnot. Plus you get access to the deep web which is a massive but strange and scary place...

5. private internet access is the best VPN out. its only like $20/year... you could use it for carding, it is one of the most secure as well. no logs.

6. tether me is a one time app cost of $4.99. I have unlimited data with ATT but idk how much data you would be using at school.

7. Hidemyass works well....lotsof options too.

8. #8 Fëanor, May 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2013

No you cannot set up your own VPN to do this the way you want.  Go with something more like Tor.

Here's why it doesn't work; let me explain how it normally works when people do what you're attempting:

Bob wants to hide his home IP address from the Internet
    Bob pays a VPN hosting provider for their service