Do i need to have a hps grow light or can i use a couple cfl's for veg state?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by hectorwork94, Jul 2, 2016.

1. So i am buying a 1000 watt light from my friend, not to certain on if its hps or hid but im getting it for 75$ with ballasts n hood so i know its a good deal and a friend hooking me up. but do i need to use it in veg state for my clones? or can i use 8 60watt cfl'sto veg and than use the 1000watt to flower? i will be using a 5×5 room for flowering but a separate smaller veg tent if possible, which is why i want to use the cfl's in the smaller tent cuz a 1000watt is just to big to have in that tent. i will have 3-4 clones for my first time grow and want them to be about 4-5ft tall. also any nutrients you would recommend? (your personal favorites) any tips? first time grower lol

2. I'm no pro, but you would be better off with cfl. HPS is more for flowering. You plant won't need that much light during veg state. You could us it I believe, but why waste money on the cost to run it. Plus the wearing of the bulb. I could be wrong. Anyone else.

Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Grasscity Forum mobile app

3. Are the cfl's a true 60w, or are they 60w replacement bulbs which would only be 13 or 14 true watts which wouldn't be enough. If they're true 60w, that's 480w which would be enough light and the 1000hps would probably be overkill especially for the beginning. If they're the 60w replacements, that's barely 100w and not enough for 3 or 4 plants. Rule of thumb is 100w first plant, 50w for every plant thereafter, and that's a minimum.

I'm no expert, just going by what I've read and been recommended.

Good luck.