DIY QB288 V2 Build - 4 Fixtures for 5' x 5' Tent

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by CFTheNatural, Oct 16, 2018.

1. #1 CFTheNatural, Oct 16, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2018
    I was very strongly urged by my friends in the Supercloset Secret Society thread to open up a new thread here to document my Quantum Board light build. Honestly I am very new to Quantum Boards and learned most everything I am going to demonstrate here from others, but I guess if nothing else that will show how basic & easy it is to build you own great lighting system. Before starting I want to give thanks to Tbone Shuffle and Steakbomb, who both gave me most of the information I needed about QB's to even attempt this build. I also need to thank Or_Gro, whose input & knowledge has been invaluable and whose experience with these size lights led to me building four separate fixtures instead of two.

OK, attached here is a parts list showing everything I used for this build, where I bought it and how much it cost. For about $1,023 (plus shipping costs on some items) you can get everything you need for this build, and have around 1,000 watts of LED lighting in your grow space. You can actually do the same build for about $106 cheaper if you buy only two Meanwell drivers and have each one power two of the QB 288's, but as I will explain below I decided to spend a bit more for cleaner & more flexible light fixtures. To buy comparable lights (same exact Samsung boards, same output) from Timber (two of what they called the 48 SAM) would be $1,600 + shipping and from HLG (two of the HLG 550 V2) would be $1,679. That is a pretty big savings, of course I already had the tools I needed (soldering iron, heat gun, electric drill, etc.) but the build can be done without those if necessary---they just make the job easier.

QB Parts List.jpg

• Like Like x 2
  2. #2 CFTheNatural, Oct 16, 2018