DIY Led Grow Lights

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by fuzzipeg, Oct 2, 2014.

1. #1 fuzzipeg, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 2, 2014
    I've been looking through these forums quite a bit and haven't really found the specific information I'm looking for.

Is there a post or webpage that lists the best loose LED lights to buy for a grow light and why?  And lumens/wattage per LED?  How many would be adequate for four indica-dominant plants in a cabinet?  What would make an LED light full-spectrum, using equal parts green/red/blue LEDs? 

I'm very interested in making my own LED grow light since they can be expensive, and I'm having a hard time finding much info on the specifics.  Many of the grow books I have are too outdated to include them.  

I'd prefer to make one that will be useful during all stages of life, as I'm not technical enough to make a settings switch.

A kind of chart would be absolutely wonderful, and a grocery list of supplies even better!

2. Best of all, any item specifications such as brand or price or place to buy them for LEDs that are best used in grow lights.

3. Thanks!  

After reading into them more, I've found if you want to find individual LED lights you need to search for diodes not bulbs.  It's all a new learning experience for me as I'm not very familiar with electrical and technical terms when it comes to electronics.  Meanwhile, I'm overly familiar with the biology of it, but am having a hard time finding something that combines  the biology and the technology into a good and thorough explanation.

So far, the best my research has come up with is this page, DopeySmurf really hits the nail on the head on what specifics I want to learn.  I only wish there was a larger discussion and they went into more detail:
    http://www.growery.org/forums/showflat.php/Number/302646