Distance from 400w HPS and plants?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by B_herb420, Mar 30, 2009.

1. Hey guys, my sprouts are almost two weeks from sprout. I'm wondering how far my HPS light should be from the plants? Right now its about 2 and a half feet away. The hood/reflector is not cooled or anything. This is my first time using HPS.:smoking:

2. This is a very simple answer and a very, very common question. Hopefully, the next person will find your thread when they search for the answer:

The height of your lights, whether CFL, HPS, MH, MV, fluro tube, incandescent, LED, or Christmas, is not a question of how much light is too much. There is no such thing, get the damn things as close as possible. The only problem you run into with putting the light right on top of the plant is the temperature the light gives off. This is why HPS and MH are the best. HID (High Intensity Discharge) lights give off mostly light and relatively low temperature, so the plants are happiest. Incandescent lights (regular light bulbs) give off a mix of light and heat, so you can't put them as close and the plants end up stretching or burning.

So find the minimum height by putting the back side of your hand about 12" from the light for about a minute. If it feels hot, try 15", if it's still hot, 18", etc... until the back of your hand is just warm.

Most people use fans to circulate air, which is good for letting the plants give off their O2 and pick up new CO2 and to thicken up stems. The other good thing about moving air is it will keep the plants cooler, meaning you can get the light closer. If you have an indoor/outdoor thermometer (or even better hygrometer), put the outdoor sensor at plant level and use it as an even better way to keep track of how hot the plants are. Keep temps between 72-80.

So the answer is keep the lights as close as possible while keeping their temperature (not room temperature) between 72-80F.

3. Mine is about 20 inches

4. Rule of thumb