Did I remove this male before it pollinated my garden?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by SupernaturalA, Aug 3, 2011.

1. Today, for the first time, my biggest plant showed me little clumps of "green small sesame seed shaped and sized" structures in the nodal areas, more on the very tops, a couple like two or three of them at the lower nodes and some nodes they are indistinguishable, but I think we all know what they are.

I am confident they were not visible this morning. Certainly, not yesterday. I noticed none of them have opened up. I found only one that seemed to extend from the node on a "stem" for lack of a better word, like a millimeter away from the plant on its own.

After removing from the garden, I tried to squeeze them to get any pollen or well anything at all out of them. All I got was sticky fingers, nothing white, etc.

Did I identify and remove this male quickly enough. Or is my garden in trouble. Thank you

By the way, I am a total beginner.

2. I'm also a complete beginner. But it sounds like you got em before they pollenated anything. Could be wrong though.

3. Thank you. I was always concerned about this one because it seemed different from my other plants, but it was the biggest one in the garden, so I kept holding out hope...

I just don't have any idea, how late is too late.

4. You are likely OK. The flowers have to open to spread pollen.

And an occasional seed is not a disaster- it's just a free start on your next grow! ;)

Granny :wave:

5. Yea I know what you mean. From the way you said it sounded like you got it right when it sprouted.

6. #6 SupernaturalA, Aug 4, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2011
    Thank you! I appreciate a voice of confidence. I am doing my best to learn and be highly attentive, but I'm "wondering in the weeds" with some events such as this arising.