Did I do it right?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by napkin, Nov 22, 2007.

1. This is my first attempt at fimming. IDK why but the leaves on this plant are so small compared to the leaves on my other 2 plants. I figured I would fim it and see if anything happens.

Attached Files:

2. bump^^^^

3. I think that you topped your plant. Which is fine. Looks to me like you took too much of the top node off the plant, therefore causing the plant to be topped. Now, those two lower nodes will grow like top nodes and your plant will basically split.

Next time, if you want to try fimming again, just cut off about 85% of the top node, but leave 15% of it on the plant.

4. Dang it lol...
    How am I supposed to LST a topped plant? Do I have to tie down both new stems now? That would kinda suck.

5. You can easily LST a topped plant. Yes, you would just tie down both new top nodes.

I am not 100% sure that you did top, and not fim. It is tough to tell from your picture. I am just pretty sure that is what you did. But, it really isn't that big of a deal. That is the beaty of fimming. If you miss, the worst you are going to do is top your plant. And that is not necessarily a bad thing.

6. If I were you, I would be more concerned about the condition of the plant than wether or not you fimmed properly. Those fan leaves don't look healthy at all. Curling and what not. You should check your grow setup. You may have a problem.

7. I'm guessing it could be a pH problem since I don't have a pH meter and im broke. The other two plants are doing fine. This plant started off small, even at day 6 its leaves were curling. I figured it was because it was in MG soil with time release ferts but even after I transplanted it the leaves never really perked back up.

8. It's tough to fim plants even when you do a nice little V in the middle of the node they sometimes end up topped. But you can LST any plant (topped or not) it always helps.