DECRiMINALIZATION

Discussion in 'Marijuana Legalization' started by Shouse1018, Nov 12, 2005.

1. I'm pretty new to the City and I love it. I love how MJ brings people from All different kind of backgrounds together. One thing lately has been bothering me more than anything. The Criminalization of MJ. I know that certain key people have been fighting this war against MJ for quite some time and with lots to loose. I guess what i'm trying to express is the fact that MJ users in the U.S. has to be a significant number.

Now, I'm no political mastermind at all so bare with me. Let's just say for shits and giggles that in the US there are probaly 500k to 1 mil Marijuana users over the age of 18, whether it be recreational or daily. Out of that 1 Million users 500k of them are loyal to MJ and would do something to help Decriminalize MJ Together, as a group. 500,000 People. That's alot of votes. Any politician would love to get their hands on 500k votes. Anybody else on the same page? I just feel like the decriminalization of MJ in all of the U.S. is close, so close, all we need is a peaceful little army of voters, some lobbyists and stuff like that. Yall let me know what you think and if you have any feasible plans plz express them.

2. lol, ok

What you fail to realize is that getting the vote of pit users requires you to give up all the votes of non-pot users....which is a massive majority.

cliff notes : you lose, sorry man :(

3. Actually there are about 10+ million pot users in the US.

Jimmy Carter made it known that he was going to decriminalize it and he got voted in.

Then he didn't decriminalize it.

It's not as close as you think, although it's moving in the right direction. Major players such as the Alcohol, Tobacco, and Medicine industries are still funding it's criminalization, and they have super deep pockets and probably own quite a few people in high places, so until corruption is removed from politics, it will be illegal.