Dealing with my boss... tips?

Discussion in 'General' started by AlterEggo, Sep 9, 2009.

1. #1 AlterEggo, Sep 9, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 9, 2009
    My boss is really getting on my damn nerves. He has been for awhile but it's becoming harder and harder to let things just roll off my back.

I work as a software developer and when I first started it was just him and I - we were in the same position. We were just a 2 man show for a somewhat large (300+) business. Eventually the projects started rolling in and we became bigger and bigger. Soon enough he became the boss and I elected to just stay a software developer (hey, I like it!).

I've been working here for about 5 years now and about a year in is when we became a bigger shop and he became boss. I ended up becoming lead developer.

First, there are some good things. On a personal level he can be okay - if there's a non-work function with beers and what-not involved then he can be cool to talk to, hang out with...etc. Also good is that he smokes pot (casually) and he knows I smoke and he doesn't care. He even knows I smoke at work from time to time and as long as I get my shit done (which I always do) he doesn't mind - big ups there.

As a manager - he SUCKS! It almost seems like he tries to annoy people. He works the floor like a sweatshop a lot of times. I'll see him hover around desks and there will be times where I'll have to debug complex issues and he will not leave my cube - he will sit down and wait until it's finished - very annoying. He no longer believes in testing thoroughly or documentation or anything of the like (he did when he was a developer) now it's just GO GO GO! He doesn't want to see us have developer meetings or talk at all - he would rather see heads down and fingers coding. This bites him in the ass on every project (we get a lot of bugs without proper testing) but he always blames us.