Dealing with dehumidifier heat?

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by BlowinSmoke4lyfe, May 10, 2020.

1. Hey guys and gals. I bought a brand new dehumidifier for then tent and it works well n all but it makes SO much heat... i cant duct the hot air out because it would be unfiltered and stink.

The only thing i can think to do is duct the air straight to the carbon filter and have it help suck it out? It doesnt work all that great... but i refuse to grow without one considering the humidity likes to spike at night.

Does anyone have tips on something i can do with the heat? Or maybe a way to dehumidify without creating as much heat?

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

2. I have never used one before but I'm guessing you can def get one that doesn't create SO much heat?

Maybe this one is broken even? Have you talked to the company or whoever sold it to you?

3. I’ve ran into the same problem.

I used to have to run my air conditioner at full blast to combat the humidity. It was definitely less than ideal.

I’ve since started running my lights at night with the dark period during the day and it has made a great difference with temp and humidity management. I’ve actually been having to run a humidifier to keep VPD in check all spring.

All good dehumidifiers make heat unfortunately. Only an equally powerful air conditioner can combat those temps.

The humidity will drop significantly with powerful air exchange in your room. The more air you can move, the lower your humidity will be. I run 6” exhaust and 4” intake for a 2x4 tent. Humidity gets pretty high where I am.

I try to run the dehumidifier as a last resort.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1