Damaged Clones

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by LT Patterson, Dec 31, 2011.

1. This is my first attempt at  taking cuttings, but I messed up and I need some insight. I took them from the mother plant about 2 and a half weeks ago and put a humidifier next to them, keeping the rH >95% for what turned out to be too long. All the stems and even veins  turned a dark purple, so I eased the rH down to 80-85%. Aside from the discoloration and some drooping everything seemed fine. Unfortunately I had to go out of town unexpectedly for a few days and the humidifier went dry, when I got back the rH was down to ~50%. About half of the foliage was brown, dried out and curling, and most of the rest was different shades of yellow, from pale green to almost white, although there was still some green (and don't forget all the purple stems). So I basically ended up with these strange looking little multicolored cuttings. I restored the rH back to ~80% and since then they have turned more green again, but the parts that went completely brown did not recover at all. Also, there's definitely been some vertical growth, the bottoms of the stalks by the soil are now green instead of purple, and a bit thicker too. So to me it seems like they've all rooted, but I need to know if they're still fit to be grown. In the last few days, I've noticed new growth coming out of the nodes in most of the cuttings, but there doesn't appear to be any new top growth on any of them. In fact, most of the tops are just completely dried up and crispy. Is the new nodal growth usual, or are they reacting as if they've been topped? Will the tops ever grow or are they all doomed to be tiny bushes? I'm reluctant to scrap them because they were all taken from mothers that are now flowering and I don't want to have to take any cuttings post harvest.