Currently have 600W HPS - replace, or add to it?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by pinksocks, Jul 25, 2019.

1. #1 pinksocks, Jul 25, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2019
    Seeking advice here. I currently have 600W HPS and an old reflector. I am trying to figure out if it would be better to add a particular LED board to the setup, or replace the HPS with a better/bigger overall complete LED setup.

I have a 4x4 that I can easily reframe to 3x3. 4 autos. I have no problem managing humidity, temps, ph, etc. Stricly worried about lighting here.

I have been eyeballing this board:
    QB288 V2 Rspec & Slate 2 Single Combo

If you recommend adding to my current HPS, would that board do well? If not, what would be a good single-board addition?

If you recommend replacing the HPS, would two of those do well? If not, what would be a good replacement around the same $$ range?

Trying to be budget-conscious here because I am very new to this hobby and have a bad habit of going overboard on stuff then moving on to something else, lol. I am reading everything I can, and this has been a little overwhelming. There is so much information to sift through, and a lot of it is conflicting.

@Tbone Shuffle , you do not know me, but you seem like a resident expert on this stuff. Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

EDIT:

I have also seen this one mentioned in threads:

Hlg Driver 301b V2 Epistar / Osrams Oslon Ssl Deep Red 3030 Smd Qb288 Lm301b Mix 660nm Quantum Board Plant Grow Light - Buy Lm301b 660nm Quantum Board,Osrams 660nm Quantum Board,Oslon 660nm Lm301b Led Product on Alibaba.com

Would that replace the HPS system, OR be a good addition to it?

• Like Like x 1
  2. Knowing what I know now, I would get rid of that HID, and buy a QB LED setup. That's a pretty good price for the board and heatsink.

Maybe consider the HID for another tent later on or sell it.