Could someone explain ratios to me please

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by wheelyzz, Mar 25, 2014.

1. Hi all, new to this forum, but not a total noob at growing, however,

Id like to know a few things about nutients that i cant quite understand.

For example I have some various nutrients to my disposal and they have quite different NPK values.
    Ionic Bloom - 3.1 : 1.9 : 5.9
    Flora Bloom - 0 : 5 : 4

Why is there such a difference between these 2 if they are both essentially bloom nutes. Is it because flora bloom has to be mixed with flora micro to correct the ratio?

Flora Ripen - 0 : 6 : 5
    Is this really a big difference compared to Flora Bloom?

Thanks for any advice guys.

2. For veg ideal 20N 20P 20K for flowering 10N 30P 20K 

3. Thanks for the reply Guru Grower, ill keep that in mind.
    Doesnt really answer my question though.

4. npk is just the percent of that nute in the solution...a 5 is 5%..essentially all nutes are the same macro and micro nutrients just different levels and certain brands add more things like different forms of humic acid...like skuny said a 20-20-20 is good because its 60% nutes which would be a bigger bang for your buck but also makes it easier to burn so you have to watch your ec/ppm

5. Thanks i get that, but can anyone explain with some science what the difference is between the above mentioned nutrients.

6. Instead of someone having to do this it would be much easier to just do a Google search on "NPK Ratings" and "What do NPK numbers mean".

That is, if you believe in the whole NPK fertilizing mentality...

j

7. why is it that 20 : 20 : 20 is best for vegging cannabis yet non of the nutrients are this?

i have
    Ionic Grow - 3.3 : 1.2 : 5.4
    FloraNova grow - 7 : 4 : 10

Is there enough N in Floranova grow or would adding human piss to it be a good idea?

8. As far as ratios go 10-20-10 is the exact same as 5-10-5, or 1-2-1. It's the percentage of NPK.