Coughing Up Ash

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by Matt55, Jul 24, 2018.

1. I've been smoking daily for about 4 years now. In the past year or more I've been coughing up black bits(Believed to be ash/resin/tar ect.) in my spit. I originally brushed it off and cut back on smoking. I smoke very little still daily though and it still continues. I used to get a lot of chest pain but i don't anymore. I seem to cough more ash up when a vape. Does anyone know the exact cause for this and is its serious?

• Like Like x 1
  2. Are you coughing up ash even when its filtered through ie a bong, or a joint with a filter?

• Like Like x 1
  3. How does one cough up ash??

• Like Like x 1
  4. I've done it. From inhaling roaches or packing a pipe without a screen.

• Like Like x 1
  5. I only use a bong its a TAG 14 inch with 1 honeycomb

• Like Like x 1
  6. Buy an ash catcher :)

• Like Like x 1
  7. But would that really fix anything its not like I'm smoking a lot like .2 -.3

• Like Like x 1
  8. I smoke around just as much in a day too sometimes I smoke a full gram. And its also about how clean you keep the bong too. However ash catchers help. A dirty bong can make you sick.

• Like Like x 1
  9. Yea I keep it pretty clean. I'll try an ash catcher though thanks

• Like Like x 1
  10. Also have you tried pipe screens? I pop em into my bowl and, threw the herb on top and, I notice it really keeps the water a lot cleaner and, less ashy. However I still see resin and, tar build up after many sessions.

11. No I've thought of it though thanks

• Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  12. What makes you think this is ash, not phlegm?

• Agree Agree x 2
  13. its like bits of ash in phelgm

• Like Like x 1
  14. does phelgm have black bits that looks like dirt in it

• Like Like x 1