Corn question

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by SplitGenetics, Aug 4, 2012.

1. #1 SplitGenetics, Aug 4, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2012
    I put corn in my Garden for the first time this year. It's adapt well so far, the male flowers are in bloom on most of them and massive amounts of pollen has been falling off of them.. But I don't see any sign of corn growing or coming in. I'm not experienced with corn at all so thats why I decided to post about it. It gets a good 7-8 hours of strong sunlight and 2 hours of a bit shaded bc it's on the side of my shed.. I don't know if there's a problem or what. I also have very rich soil in my garden and everything grows beautifully, even the corn shot up fast. It's at about 7.5-8 feet now. I'd appriciate the help, thanks GC. One Love

SplitGenetics

2. Nobody?? I'd appriciate some insight lol

3. I haven't had a garden in a log time now, just container gardening and no corn, but I recall that corn is a very late harvest. I was in central Canada when I had a garden and even then, if you didn't get it in by may long you'd have no crop.

Do you have ears forming on side of stalk at all? Just above the base of a leaf. And if very small when are you expecting first frost?

4. [quote name='"SnyperSystems"']I haven't had a garden in a log time now, just container gardening and no corn, but I recall that corn is a very late harvest. I was in central Canada when I had a garden and even then, if you didn't get it in by may long you'd have no crop.

Do you have ears forming on side of stalk at all? Just above the base of a leaf. And if very small when are you expecting first frost?[/quote]

Thanks, so far there's just these string like parts coming out of the side leaves so that's where the corn should eventually form. I live on long island, so frost normally hits October 1st or around there..

5. Looks like you might not have the best crop this year, hopefully you get something still, when did you get the seed in?