Concerns about heat issues in 4x4x7 tent with 1000w MH/HPS

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by nt3grals, Feb 14, 2016.

1. Okay so i am planning on using my 4x4x7 tent with a dimmable digital 1000w virtual sun cooltube hood and ballast. Only planning on starting out with 4 plants at the moment. What would you suggest for the cooling? Im trying to stay under $700 or so in the build initially. I am also planning on a carbon filter with 6in fan for ventilation. Any suggestions would be great as i am new to growing with hps/mh. Always used cfl's until now.

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum mobile app

2. For a room that small would it be better to use a 4in virtual sun fan and carbon filter to exhaust the room, & then use a 6in virtual sun fan to cool the hood? The 4in fan has an airflow of 192cfm & the 6in has 500cfm. Would that be enough for the room? Should i also have a small intake fan to bring new air into the room?

3. I use a 1000 watt hps with a XXL hood with the glass to keep the heat in. I use a 6 inch vortex connected directly to the hood with a tiny bit of ducting between. The vortex sucks the air through a carbon filter that is on the right side of hood, through the hood then directly out of the tent. The only time I get above 85 is in the summer time and all I have to do is run my house ac.

4. Here is a 5x5 screen of green with the setup I just explained.

Attached Files:

5. #5 Fataqui, Feb 25, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2016