computer geeks, i need your help

Discussion in 'General' started by thegodfather420, Jul 27, 2008.

1. hey gc. i was hoping i could enlist some of you stoner computer wizzes to lend me a hand. im sure theres plenty of you out there, tokers come from all walks of life.

ok i just bought an xfx 8800gt graphics card. i go to put into my computer and realize i only have a 300 watt psu. this card requires a minimum 500 watt psu. now i dont want to fry out my comp or my current psu so i need a new one.

i have no experience when it comes to power supplies so im hoping someone could help. im not sure what kind i need. if it even makes a difference, im pretty much clueless. iv browsed the web and cant find out much about it so far.

anyways my specs are as follows.

computer: hp pavilion a1610n
    processor: amd athalon 64 x2 4200+
    memory: x2 512 MB sticks and x2 1024 MB sticks so 3 GB total
    onboard graphics: nvidia geforce 6150 LE
    motherboard: ASUS NODUSM3
    Hard drive: 1 x250 GB - Standard - Serial ATA - 7200 rpm

2. i reccomend a geforce 7600gt. Its just as good and its geforce so you know its quality, yet it runs on 300 watt psus. Or you could always buy a 500 watt psu.

3. but how do i know that it will work with my system? does it matter??? and what the hell is a 12v rail. iv read this a million times and nothing to explain it.

4. actually the 8800 is a pretty good improvement on the 7600. anything lower in the 8 series is just about the same as the 7600.

its been a while since i installed a new card in my comp and man this thing is huge. the last one i got was geforce 5500 like 2 years ago and it was half the size of this thing. it almost across the whole case.

5. anyone else have any help for me?