Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Complete newbie helping mom with MMJ!

Discussion in 'Medical Marijuana Usage and Applications' started by mmjdaughter, Oct 12, 2010.

1. Hi all,

First of all I want to express my appreciation to this forum for being such a great resource on MMJ! I've definitely learned a lot from reading the posts here.

My 60-year-old mom has suffered for years from severe insomnia, anxiety and joint pain. It seems like we've tried everything - sleeping pills, herbs, acupuncture - all with no lasting effects. We've been so frustrated with past treatments that just don't work! So today I finally went with her to her evaluation appointment at MMEC and we had a great experience getting her verified and set up with physician's letter and ID. The doctor was very understanding and soothing.

Our next step, going to a dispensary, was a little harder. I did try smoking a few years ago in uni, but it was on the rare occasion, so I have basically zero experience with marijuana! In the end we came home with some indica in capsule form. I wanted to ask the staff some more questions about what to get, but they were a little pushy and my mom felt some anxiety coming on, so we just went the conservative route and came home with the capsules. Planning on administering one tonight about an hour before bed. She'll eat a light supper around 6pm so the food doesn't interfere too much with the meds, and we'll see if she can finally get a good night's rest and get some relief from all the stress that comes with insomnia.