Commercial Grow room setup

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by naturesbestmeds, Sep 7, 2013.

1. Grasscity:
    I'm looking to setup an indoor grow and could use the feedback of those with similar circumstances as I have. I'm located in the state of Maine in the USA. I have a two story garage separate from my house. The top floor has unfinished walls and the bottom garage is a two bay garage with the majority of the walls being underground (just enough above ground for two tiny basement style windows). There is electricity in the garage but I don't think it will be enough to support my power needs. I have an electrician coming to wire more power as I have little knowledge and want to avoid fire hazards. My main concern is the cold winter months (the temperature commonly drops below freezing). I am legally allowed to grow for patients under the Maine Medical Marihuana Act. The walls and floors are concrete and the ceiling is not inslutated. Is it feasible to expect to be able to control the temperature in this environment? Anyone have any idea on insulation, heating, air/humidity control that would make this feasible/affordable. I have a generator if I lose power. The space is roughly 25 x 15 feet with average ceilings height. I'm willing to go to great lengths to make this a controllable environment during the freezing winter months and have the option to grow in the unfinished upstairs garage or the basement style two bay garage downstairs. From what I observed this summer the humidity stays high in the lower level and the temperature stays cooler. Were as the upstairs room fluctuates greatly, sometimes reaching over 100 degrees on a hot summer day (roughly 10 degrees higher than outside temperatures). My goal is commercial growth and maximizing yields. I have a close water source, power source (soon to be installed), back up generator, lighting equipment (1000 watt HPS's), and ready access to quality strands. My biggest concern is the freezing winte