College Tokers: RA explains student housing and how people get caught.

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by KOd3Gr33n, Jan 28, 2012.

1. Hello College blades, I am a sophomore who attends college in Southern California. When I was a freshman I applied to be a Resident Advisor in the dorms and after bullshitting my way through 3 group interviews, a large group processing, and an individual interview I was hired. The free housing is nice, plus I have no roommates, get a monthly stipend, and my parents supply me with additional money. Life is good so I thought I'd explain the dorms and how they work.

1) I am smoking in my room at night, all of a sudden the door bell rings and fake Police Officers are in my room and an RA is demanding my ID.

RAs do what are called Rounds. Every night 2 RAs pair up and are responsible for walking through every floor of a specific number of buildings. We are checking for things like parties, loud music and weed, If we smell it then we are instructed to call our Police Services right away and wait for them to come. When they arrive we tell them what room we think it is and then let them do their thing. Afterwards, we come in and take down the ID numbers of everyone involved who is a resident in the dorms.

2) When do RAs do "Rounds"?

On Sunday-Thursday RAs do rounds at 7pm and 10pm. On Fridays and Saturdays we do rounds at 10pm and 1am because those are the nights that tend to have the most parties and such. Understand that this doesn't mean you should smoke at 7:15 and think you'll be in the clear because the RAs that are on duty may have just done your building last out of the number of ones they are assigned to do. Because rounds can take up to 40 minutes, I would suggest smoking at 7:45-, 10:45-,1:45-. That way even if it does smell no RAs will be there to smell it.

3) Do I have to give them my ID?