Closet Hydro Set-up

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by jlamar, Jun 3, 2009.

1. Hey all,

just about to start a new batch but i wanted to get ur input on my set-up before i start:

planning on running 4 plants in bubble-buckets connected in series with a 400w MH light and mylar coating on the walls.

also this is my first time using MH and i was wondering what recommendations you guys had on bulbs

the closet is about 2x6x5 and i wanted to make sure this had enough light and wondered what you're thoughts were on ventilation and temp problems

any input would help, thanks

2. Hi..

Have you already purchased your light? A HPS light would be much better for flowering than a MH. And they are usually cheaper. If you did a search, you would find that a 400 watts was good for a 4 X 4 foot print. You will probably want some sort of venting to keep the temps down. There is tons of information on this site, use the search function and you will have all your questions answered.

Good Luck

3. Yeah that sounds really good, I would say a 400 watt hps sounds good, I have a 1000 watt in a 3x3, And it took a little bit to get the temp under control. Just try to mount the transformer for your light outside of the room, and that will help a lot. But I have seen that MH is better for veg stage. ( I love hps all the way, but Mh is better for it but not for flowering) 100% on using hps for flowering.

4. thanks for the help,

i havent purchased anything yet so thanks for saving me the trouble (and the buds;)), so i think i'll definitely go with the hps as opposed to the MH, but will the 400w be enough for four plants?