Cloning question...

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by docmojoman, Jun 8, 2009.

1. I've got five clones I started about five days ago. I used rooting gel and have them in %100 vermiculite soaked in a low dose of thrive alive. This is my first attempt, so I have been going by guides.

They seem to be getting along quite well. There is a little yellowing, but I read that I was to expect yellowing and that it is a sign of root growth. Curiosity overwhelmed me, so I pulled one clone out of its medium. I couldn't readily identify any new roots sprouting, but it didn't look rotten or unhealthy.

I just stuck it back into the growing vermiculite. What I need to know is - should I have re-dipped it in rooting gel after pulling it out? Also, how important is a heating mat to cloing?

2. Yeah five days is early man. A little yellowing might happen, but not much should really
    yellow, depending on how much leaf mass you let remain on your clone. Can we see a pic?

A re-dip would have been ok but its fine man. Just let them be. I hope you have them
    in a humidity dome? Are they wilty at all?

Also, keep them in low light conditions. I made the mistake of trying to root four
    clones under 4 t8 flouros recently and it took forever for them to root. My mistake!

A humidity mat helps if your room is generally cold. Whats the temp and RH in there?

:bongin: ~Experimentalist

3. Sure! FUCK! I dropped my clone container whilst pulling it out to take a pic! ARRRRGGG!

[​IMG]

Yes, they are in a dome w/ %100 humidity. I open the container 4 - 5 times a day.

The temps are in the 75 - 80 F range mostly staying at 77. The "room" they are in has two 24w(? low wattage) 6500k clfs.

Low light conditions are favorable?

Attached Files:

4. Wow you left a lot of leaf on those clones. Some should have been trimmed, in my
    opinion. Anyways, they look good. In a great dome too. Good work!