Cloning from Feminized seed... will it hermie?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by geth, Mar 9, 2011.

1. Hi all, just wanted to get some opinions/feedback on a debate a friend and I have. He is thinking of trying a grow. He wants to do a perpetual grow where he clones from his vegging plants a little before putting to flower, and keeps the cycle running that way, eliminating the need for mothers. Personally I have no experience in growing, but told him I would look online and found this forum. Which seems to be full of knowledge.

So the question is; If he starts from feminized seed, ensures plants are healthy when cutting the clone, and stress is not a factor, will he continue to get fems from the clones? Is the chance of getting a hermie greater from cloning from a feminized plant?

From what I understand, a clone is a clone is a clone. If it came from a female, it will be a female. Is this correct? He feels he will end up with a ton of hermies after a few cycles.

2. Should be no greater chance of getting a hermie from cloning a female from a feminized seed than from cloning a female from a "regular" seed.

3. "should"

i disagree...feminized seeds will produce a higher percentage of hermie plants. It is a fact. A clone will have the same genetic make-up as it's mother...therefore, a clone taken from a feminized seed mother will have a better chance of being hermie than a clone taken from a reg seed mother. Now, if you clone both, then put the clone into flower, there is a chance that the fem clone doesn't hermie and the reg clone does...but the chances are much higher that the fem bean clone will hermie. Obviously this is comparing apples and apples. I will not buy beans that were made from plants that hermied...i don't care what anyone says, the percentages go up big time!!