Clones haven't rooted yet. Problem?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by silent1, Nov 16, 2003.

1. I took some cuttings from my mother plant on Nov 4. I made diagonal cuts and put them in plastic opaque cups with just water under some fluoros. I dipped the cuttings in some root hormone (powder) prior to placing them i n the water. Note that I took the cuttings when the mother was about 9 days into flowering.

The cuttings look very healthy for the most part. About 4 days after I cut them, some started flowering. So I upped the photoperiod to 24/0 instead of 18/6.

It's day 11, and I still have no roots on any of the plants. Could the fact that the mother was just starting to flower be the cause? And will my cuttings ever show roots?

2. Yeah, I figured it would be a matter of time before they rooted. I just had no idea how long it would take as this is my first time growing cuttings. But they are far from dying with no signs of yellowing, so I left them alone for now.

Oh, and ambient temp is about 74 degrees on average.

3. you are fine, i bet day after tomorrow root budz. its like one day they are not there and then BAM! youre good man as long as those flowers are still growing, you shouldnt worry.

4. you should try cutting scarification and instead of rooting in water... dip the end in rooting hormones and put in soil, vermiculite/perlite, or a jiffy pellet.... and keep the humidity very high and mist at least once a day.....

5. great advice on the scraping bit there, also, i highly recomend that people take cuttings during flower 10-20 days. The clones take longer to root, but are healthier and branchier in the end. Hold on you will be ok.