clone question

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by pork chop, Mar 31, 2015.

1. Hi Blades, Quick question if I pop a seed take a clone don't keep a mother but just keep taking a clone from a clone will this work ? I don't have room to keep  a mother so I wanted to just take clones rite before the switch to 12/12 . Thanks in advance

2. if you mean making generations from the same mother then yeah I know someone on there that has like 13 generations

3. Yes you can.

I've been propagating that way for over 30 years. I've kept genotype/phenotypes for years, one for almost 15 years.

I take cuttings in veg and then veg those clones while the others flower. You can keep rooted clones with minimal lighting for quite a while.

For long term propagation, the trick is to always take cuttings from healthy vigorous vegging plants. Never put them in 12/12 (not even for one dark cycle). If they want to start flowering they get a lot harder to propagate and keep healthy.

I found that 18/6 or 20/4 for vegging works best if you're propagating. I found that vegging with 24 hr light starts stressing them a bit when they get older (I had some peter out on me in less than a year using 24 hour light, and found they stayed more vigorous with 18/6.

4. I don't keep mothers either. Just clone plants a couple weeks before putting them into flower.

5. Thanks guys appreciate it.

6. Genetic drift comes from keeping a mother... so take me for example.... once i get older my genetics change, my enzymatic reaction slows and i lose testosterone and building blocks(youre cloning your grandparents vigor).... now if we take our clone from a teenager each time... we keep a constant vigor and dna sequence in the plant... we can change phenotypes but thats advanced stuff like perfecting recessive and dominant traits to run sativas and hermie prone strains.

Coming from someone with success past 10 generations